In international cricket, the India vs. Afghanistan third Twenty20 International was the first to feature two super overs.
At M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Wednesday, January 17, the third Twenty20 International between Afghanistan and India made headlines as it included two super overs for the first time in an international match. Notably, the International Cricket Council (ICC) altered the super over rule following the thrilling 2019 ODI World Cup final in which England defeated New Zealand by the “barest of all margins,” or the boundary count.
The third Twenty20 International saw India and Afghanistan face off in another one-over eliminator after they knotted the score on 17 in the previous one. According to the new rules, if the first one ends in a draw, the two teams would have to play another super over. But several questioned whether or not the two teams would have played a third super-over if they had tied on the second occasion as well.
Is a third super over possible?
Two teams will play a super over until a clear winner is determined under the new ICC playing criteria. As a result, until one team beats the other’s score or holds the other team to a lower total than their own, the two teams will play as many super-overs as they can.
Can the bowler who bowled the first over bowl the second?
Additionally, as was the case in the India vs. Afghanistan match, the same bowler is not permitted to bowl the second or third super over. Afghanistan asked Azmatullah Omarzai to bowl the second super over of the match after he had bowled the opening one.
Fareed Ahmed was forced to bowl the second one when the on-field officials denied their plea. Additionally, for India, Ravi Bishnoi bowled the second super over after seamer Mukesh Kumar bowled the first.
Who gets to bat first, the team?
The side that batted first during the match bats second in the super over, following the rules. Additionally, in the second super over, the side that batted first in the first will have to bat second, and so on. The regulation may have been implemented to save time since, when the super over is called, the team batting already will have its hitters ready.
In the second super over, can the same hitter bat?
The regulations provide that one of the three listed players for the second super over may be a batter who has retired injured or has not been dismissed in the first one. But a batter cannot bat in the second super over if he is dismissed or retired out. However, after retiring himself out of the game against Afghanistan, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma came out to bat in the second super over. People began claiming it was against the rule, and the occasion became the talk of the town.
It’s unclear at this point, though, if Rohit retired himself or was injured during the first super over. The incident has not yet received formal confirmation.